Goodbye Jesus

How Mental Meds Work

R. S. Martin

I'm not sure where to post this. Time and again we get posts from people who adamant not to take meds for mental conditions. I'm not a doctor, just a layperson whose life is greatly improved by so-called mental meds. I can't work but I can look after myself and my dog and my apartment, which is more than I could do without the meds. 

The way I understand it, the human body is designed to provide all the hormones and stuff that is needed to function well. The normal human adult body should be able to get up in the morning, eat breakfast, go to work, deal with the daily grind of routine and frustrations, go home and deal with the family, go to bed and sleep, feeling refreshed the next morning and ready to repeat the cycle. 

Some of us have thyroids and other body parts that fail to produce the hormones and enzymes or whatever necessary to bounce over the rough spots. We fly off the handle at the slightest provocation, we hear voices, we have all kinds of problems dealing with everyday little bumps and bruises because our bodies fail to produce these special juices and stuff. Or they produce too much of it, Or whatever.

Fortunately, the doctors have figured out how to supplement the body's deficiencies. Psychiatrists are trained to figure out which meds work best for which individual's problems so we can live the most normal lives possible. If we stick by doctor's orders and dosages, there is small chance of getting addicted. So I'm not sure why people are so reluctant to take these meds that would make them feel so much better.