Goodbye Jesus

The Mystery Of Morality-from An Exchristian

laura

Hi everyone, my name is Laura, and I am fairly new to this fantastic site. I had been indoctrinated into the ridiculousness of Christianity since birth and went through Christain elementry and High School being brainwashed by non-sense as I went. I eventually left probably in October or November of 05 not only because of the incongruencies of the faith but also because of a need to maintain my sanity. There is still one gaping problem: How do I deal with morality?

It is now obvious to me that Chirstianity and other religious beliefs do not solve the problem This is because opinions of what iss right and wrong ie morality change from indidvidual to indidvidual, form religious sect to sect and within the individuals among them, and from religion to religion. This leaves us with a multitude of opinions varying widely, slightly and all ranges in between. There are countless numbers of interpretations of biblical and likely other religious texts, and variances on even what the correct way to interpret them is. Therefore, how is one to know what is really right and wrong?

Take lying for example. Some starch fundamentalists will say that it is always wrong no matter what even though they fail to realize that in the OT bible Rahab lies to help the Isrealite spies. Could not God made another way in which lying wasn't neccessary? But others will say that she wasn't lying, she was simply "not telling the truth"-a completely different thing. Please, don't make me throw up on you-serioiusly. Some will say it's okay under certain circumstances. So maybe she was lying in the name of Jesus. Some might say that it was something she chose to do out of free will, that while wrong, just happened to help god. That still doesn't completely line up.