Goodbye Jesus

What Makes You Different? Why Are You Atheist?

llstn

Hi Everyone,

I've been reading Will Storr's new book "The Unpersuadables" about people who cling to their beliefs when presented with conflicting evidence. That made me wonder, why do some people change their mind? I'm a journalism grad student and writing about this for my final "Religion & Journalism" paper. I'd love to get everyone's insight!

-Are you the only (or one of a few) atheist in your family, group of friends, and/or hometown?

-What makes you different?

-Is there a personality trait that makes you more likely to leave religion?

-Was there a life choice (moving, career, college) that you made that led you to atheism? Would your Christian friends and family have made the same choice?

Thanks in advance. And you can read my own journey to atheism here: http://www.alternet.org/belief/how-i-went-being-southern-baptist-preachers-daughter-open-atheist

-Lala

Hi Everyone,

I've been reading Will Storr's new book "The Unpersuadables" about people who cling to their beliefs when presented with conflicting evidence. That made me wonder, why do some people change their mind? I'm a journalism grad student and writing about this for my final "Religion & Journalism" paper. I'd love to get everyone's insight!

-Are you the only (or one of a few) atheist in your family, group of friends, and/or hometown?

-Was there a life choice (moving, career, college) that you made that led you to atheism? Would your Christian friends and family have made the same choice?

Thanks in advance. And you can read my own journey to atheism here: http://www.alternet.org/belief/how-i-went-being-southern-baptist-preachers-daughter-open-atheist

-Lala

1. No

2. N/a

3. Yes, a distrust of groupthink of any kind, and high suspicion of cult-like activity such as the demonization of other cults

4. Yes, growing up and realizing that the world is run by phonies and liars

Hi Everyone,

Yes