Goodbye Jesus

Are There Common Stages A Religious Spouse Goes Through After Learning About The Deconversion?

LongWayAround

I am still fairly new to this.  I realized early this year that I no longer believed and told my wife in the spring.  These are the stages that I have noticed my wife going through during this time:

• Shock - Until I told her, she had no idea I was struggling with my faith.
  • Intense Honest Discussion - We had a lot of long, honest discussions about what I believed and why.  This was a good stage to give her information about why so many things about xtianity don't make sense.
  • Guilt - My wife expressed guilt that she had somehow been a bad christian example and that had caused my deconversion (this is not at all true).
  • Saddness - My wife has felt very sad at times that the religious life that she envisioned will not include me by her side.
  • Fear - Intense fear that I am bound for hell.  My wife has asked me to promise that if I know my death is imminent, I will reconvert to avoid hell.  It is a promise that I won't make.
  • Super Religious - during this time, my wife would spend hours studying the bible and reading religious books.
  • Super Kind - My wife was super kind and loving towards me like she was going to love me back in to believing.
  • Denial - Although my wife knows that I no longer believe, she thinks I will eventually come to my senses and go back to being an xtian.
  • Moratorium on Honest Discussion - My wife no longer wants to talk about my deconversion or hear my view of any religious topic.  I think she does not want to hear the counter apologetics because she is afraid it may affect her faith or it is easier for her to be in denial about my deconversion if the topic doesn't come up.