Goodbye Jesus

Jack Hibbs: The Revival Of The Islamic State

SoulCanvas

My apologies if I've chosen the incorrect place to post this.

Today, my pastor played this video of this message by Jack Hibbs. It was extremely difficult for me to watch. I would greatly appreciate some feedback and thoughts on his words. Thanks guys! 

Note: All Regularly Contributing Patrons enjoy Ex-Christian.net advertisement free.
  • Super Moderator

Most of us won't/can't spend time watching long videos. Maybe you could sum it up so people will know what it's about, then maybe some would be interested enough to watch a video.

I'm confused to see you say you have a "pastor." Are you still a sheep?

Thanks for the suggestion! I'm in a hurry to get somewhere so I'll go through later tonight and list off the major parts in the video. 

As for me, I'm a first year college student. Last year I left Christianity, but my parents have yet to find out. So, when I travel back home on the weekends, I'm still required to attend church with them.  

• 2 weeks later...

I'm watching the video now and I'll try and assist in tackling this topic. 

After mid way through the sermon I'm thinking to myself, "Dawkins is right! A full eradication of superstitious religious belief seems like the only way out of this mess." 

Ok, I've watched all the way through. 

If you'll state your concerns I'll try and address them. This shouldn't be difficult to watch from an ex-christian stand point so hopefully I can represent our position on Christians war mongering against Islam (that's the video in a nut shell) in a way that makes sense to you, even though you're still very close in to Christianity and susceptible to the emotional fear being promoted. 

I watched this the whole way through too, SoulCanvas.

It wasn't as bad as I expected, to be honest. It was informative and I learned a lot about how the Church in the US is choosing to handle this current crisis. There's a lot worse out there.