Goodbye Jesus

Down And Out

knightcore

This is my first time posting here, and I have noticed that a lot of people have hung around a lot before posting but I would really like to get things off of my chest. I haven't had a community of people who really fully understand where I'm coming from on a lot of issues. Especially because my nearest and dearest friends aren't from christian backgrounds. But I feel like maybe some of you guys will get it.

I grew up in a very strongly Christian family, my dad was a Catholic gone Baptist and my mom converted when she was in high school and it changed her life. They're both radical Christians and I respect them for their faith but I feel at the same time it set me up for failure when it came to my own.

We we a mission family, very very lowkey mission family. I have lived and visited places from Germany to Malaysia. In the words of Columbo, "It's a blessing. And a curse." I didn't have any kind of stable home for most of my childhood. We moved within every two years my whole life until I was 13, and we settled in the middle east. I absolutely hated it and I think that's really when things were soured for me. How could god rip me away from a place we were doing so well?

I got over it eventually, despite still hating it. We had lived there five years before things went bad again. And they really, really went bad. Suddenly everyone who had supported my dad and my family turned against us entirely. We had very few friends, even after everything was cleared up. Everything was in pieces, we had to come back to America to a church that didn't know how to help ease us back into living state-side. Once again I was left questioning everything, but this time I realized something I was almost afraid to admit. I really, truly hated god. If he was there, and he really only gives us what we can bear, why did he completely break my dad? Why did he ruin my family? Why were the only people who helped me non-christians?