Goodbye Jesus

Trying To Save My Marriage - 1 Year Later

Insightful

Hi everyone,

I’m trying hard to hang onto my marriage – but it’s VERY difficult.  Before I give the latest update, let me recap my story first:

- I grew up in a Christian home, my parents were “saved” when I was 2-4 years old.  We went to charismatic churches early on (ages 4-8) as my parents were both “on fire”.  Then the fire cooled.  Eventually my family stopped attending when I was a teenager.  I still identified as “Christian”.  I was a good kid – no major rebellious phase, good at school, respectful. 

- In college, I started attending a campus fellowship group.  Through friends, I got introduced to Calvinism.  I became passionate about studying scripture, enjoying using my mind in worship and not just emotions (like when my family was charismatic).  Still though, I was soft on things like the age of the earth (I would have identified as Old Earth creationist).  As I studied, I had questions and doubts about things like the Trinity, but nothing strong enough for me to question the whole thing.

- In grad school, I met my now-wife.  She was much more fundamentalist than me.  A “high view” of scripture was very important to her – literal inerrancy, expository preaching.  Young earth creation for sure – because Young Earthers make science subservient to scripture, but Old Earthers make scripture subservient to science.  Although she liked me, she would not consider dating me if I held loose positions on inerrancy and the age of the earth.

- As my beliefs were not yet rigidly formed, I attended church with her where I was slowly but effectively indoctrinated – to the point where I agreed with her on pretty much everything theologically.  I tried very hard to not just believe to win the girl – but to believe with integrity, because I really thought it was true.  I bought into the entire fundamentalist perspective.