Goodbye Jesus

Question: Why Did You Leave

GuyGone

I'm a pastor who gave up on God.  I wrote an e-book about my journey, if you want to see it, do a search for "Divorcing God by Guy Gone" on Amazon.  But what I want to do here is find out how people left their faith.  I read some of the things here and see parallels with my own story.  But it seems there are some almost binary divisions in how people leave their faith.  So here are some questions I'd like to see responses to from other people:

Did you leave your faith because of one big "if this is true, there can't be a God" moment?  Or was it an accumulation of doubts that overloaded the ship of faith and made impossible for it to stay afloat?  For me it was one big, somewhat complex event that started an avalanche of doubt.

How long did it take you to really let go?  Months? Years?  And if you hung on for a while, as I did, was it because of fear that God might be real and might be really ticked?  Was it because, like me, you really wanted it to be true even though you were finding it harder and harder to hang on?  Was it because you were hoping that God would somehow show up in an unambiguous way and "save the day"?

Were you mostly disappointed with God or more angry with God just before you left?

Finally, did you have genuine experiences that seemed to be God and that you had to let go of to let go of God?  Or was letting go of God more a result of never having that genuine, unquestionable experience that made God real?

I know that not everyone who is questioning is going to write their complete journey, and some haven't finished the trip yet.  But I am curious to know, even for those who don't want to write a lot, how these things factor into the journey and how you got to where you are now (wherever that is).

I look forward to reading your replies.

• Like 5

I was in love with Jesus. I was also a recorded worship leader of charismaniac ilk.