Goodbye Jesus

Dead Again: Director Of Theological School De-Converts

James23

Hello. I’m new to ex-Christian.net coming all the way to you from New Zealand (look at your Globe, go down, no further, right down the bottom, find Australia, just South East of that). I became a Christian in my early twenties after going through a fairly traumatic series of events. At the time I didn’t see that those events could be psychologically impacting my decision-making. I asked a lot of questions before I converted, but there was an extremely clever young pastor who was doing a degree in theology at the time and he was able to answer all of my questions to my satisfaction. Reflecting back now I can see that at the heart of it I really wanted to believe (X-Files styles!). I was a good Christian, I did my best to follow the ridiculous rules of Christianity, both written and unwritten. I read widely, that is to say widely within Christian authorship, prayed and read my Bible religiously. There was a particularly large group of people my own age at the church at that time, so we were all able to engage in self-convincing, confirmation bias. This of course further reinforced my zeal. Over the years I went through a number of training courses within the church, moving cities I changed churches and went through all of the swings and roundabouts that someone who has been in the Evangelical community for any period of time will be familiar with. I should clarify that I was Charismatic/Pentecostal during the early part of my walk and really just defined myself as Evangelical in the latter part of my walk. I did fundamentalism, prophecy-mania, laughing in the spirit, end times fanaticism, you name it. Finally I ended up in a large church which was considerably more spiritually conservative than some of the previous ones I had attended. At this church I became involved in teaching and taught theology, biblical studies, philosophy, ethics, leadership and discipleship for ten years. For the l