Goodbye Jesus

Secular Jew Tries To Become A Christian

Unafraid

Hi Ya'll,

I've been on quite the journey over the last 7 months.  I'm a 34 year old professional.  I was introduced to a beautiful girl 7 months ago, who happens to be a devout Christian.  I'm Jewish but never took it seriously.  In fact, I refused to go to Sunday school from a very early age, and I am not a Bar-Mitzvah.  Looking back I made a huge mistake in not taking my faith seriously and my Jewish education seriously.  I missed out on so much beauty, history, knowledge, and culture.  Anyways, my girlfriend made a huge impression on me.  I want to spend the rest of my life with her.  So I tried to "evangelize" myself.  Her internal and external beauty is nothing like I've ever seen, and we fell in love and are a perfect match.  However, my Jewish soul pulled me back to my Jewish heritage, forcing me to examine all sides of Christianity from the Jewish perspective, Christian perspective, and atheist/secular perspective.  I've read many scholarly books from all types of authors, listened to hundreds of hours of podcasts and youtube videos, and talked to many people from all faith walks.  It is clear to me now that I can say Christianity is not true.  Not that I THINK Christianity is not true, rather I KNOW Christianity is not true.  Of course this finally came out in my relationship and I broke up with my girlfriend over it.  We decided to take a break, and today I write this note a few hours before her and I will meet, probably for the last time (although I pray that she will allow me the opportunity to study the bible together so she can at least understand why I started to have serious problems with the bible).  This is the long story made short.