Goodbye Jesus

Feeling Hollow.

Autumn2909

My life feels so devoid and empty. I feel outside of my self, numb and just...meh.

I feel like my life is stuck while everyone else keeps moving, finding love, happiness, success, meaning. 

I have no community anymore. No comfort, no joy, no music, just...hollow.

Ive been deconverting for about 3 years now. I figured I'd be feeling less lost by now. 

I wish I could have my Christian years back; I'd love to have a do-over of going super-evangelical church at university.

If I didn't have my dog to get my out the house and into nature, I think I'd go nuts.

When will this shitty feeling end??   I can't go on feeling like this.

One of the worst things about leaving your religion is the loss of friends and social structure. I supposed one could ask if they really were my friends why would they end our friendship because I left religion? So, maybe they weren't your friends after all.

Maybe you should look at this situation as though you moved to distant city or country and now you have to rebuild your social structure and make new friends. How would you go about that? What do you like to do for fun? Others probably like to do that too, so that might be a good way to make new contacts and friends. Social media is a way to meet new people.

One thing for sure get out of the house and start interacting with new people. The Unitarian Church embraces both believers and non-believers as do other "liberal" Churches. Most true liberal versions of Christianity are mostly social clubs so that could be transitional possibility.

Things do get better in time, but it just doesn't happen. You will have to take some initiative yourself. Like I said, if you just moved to a new city how would you go about making new friends?

I know this is a difficult time for you and we've all been there. It will get better.

• Like 3

Hi Daisy