Goodbye Jesus

Your Thoughts On The Origin Of Religion

deno

I'm a recent convert from 15+ years of evangelical indoctrination so I'm only beginning to learn the arguments of atheists, agnostics, freethinkers, and the like. With that said...a book I was recently reading briefly mentioned the subject of the origin of religion. As I remember, the author admitted he was a little puzzled that billions of people in the world have historically been drawn to one religion or another. Why does mankind seem to need a belief in a supernatural being?

The author also espoused evolution (which I have become to believe in) and meticulously outlined his reasons for his belief. It was only later that I wondered if evolution might have something to do with our need for a god. My thinking was along these lines: In my uneducated understanding, the essence of evolution is survival. Thus, a species, by natural selection, evolves so that it can survive in its environment. It seems to me that the number one priority of any species is survival for survival's sake which would necessitate reproduction.

So, it seems to me and my armchair science that the next logical step from temporal survival would be eternal survival. If the mechanism of evolution is so adept at finding ways to survive why couldn't it create in us the desire to survive forever? This built-in desire manifests itself in the pursuit of pleasing and worshiping something greater than themselves who is capable of extending life beyond the grave. During my years as a Christian, I've heard it said many times that God put in each of us a God-shaped vacuum that could only be filled by Him. Maybe what they call a vacuum is really evolutionary wiring in our brains.