Goodbye Jesus

Fast Radio Bursts = Aliens? Maybe? Perhaps?

bornagainathiest

https://www.cfa.harvard.edu/news/2017-09

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fast_radio_burst

This will be the second time in recent years that scientists have looked to the idea of advanced aliens to explain something that seems to defy explanation.

The first occasion concerned Tabby's Star.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KIC_8462852

Thanks,

BAA.

Dunno... I'm not an expert but to me as interested layman the idea of neutron star collisions or similar sound more convincing.

If these are of extraterrestial sentience origin, they can hardly be meant for communication (what information would you pack into such a millisecond-pulse?), so what would be the reason for them?

7 hours ago, Thurisaz said:

Dunno... I'm not an expert but to me as interested layman the idea of neutron star collisions or similar sound more convincing.

If these are of extraterrestial sentience origin, they can hardly be meant for communication (what information would you pack into such a millisecond-pulse?), so what would be the reason for them?

These bursts are theorized to be about power, not communication, Thuriasz.

Loeb and his co-author Manasvi Lingam (Harvard University) examined the feasibility of creating a radio transmitter strong enough for it to be detectable across such immense distances. They found that, if the transmitter were solar powered, the sunlight falling on an area of a planet twice the size of the Earth would be enough to generate the needed energy. Such a vast construction project is well beyond our technology, but within the realm of possibility according to the laws of physics.

Lingam and Loeb also considered whether such a transmitter would be viable from an engineering perspective, or whether the tremendous energies involved would melt any underlying structure. Again, they found that a water-cooled device twice the size of Earth could withstand the heat.