Goodbye Jesus

Hello everyone

I have spent my whole life in a strict fundamentalist church as a very obedient and unquestioning Christian. I was a model sunday school teacher, I've sacrificed time and energy. Difficult life events and challenges lead me to questioning and wanting to understand what exactly I believed and why, particularly as I believed half my family was doomed to hell. Ultimately it all unraveled when difficulties forced me to confront my own mortality head on and I started seeing a therapist for various issues. The best thing my therapist could have done for me was to bring up Dawkins when I mentioned the stress caused by my beliefs. It took me a while to get up the nerve to start reading, and after I got through Dawkins' God Delusion I was starving for information. I've been on a reading binge ever since - Holloway, Ehrman, Held Evans, Tarico, Winnell, Ray.

The funny thing with all this is that it takes awhile for the information to sink in, but slowly and surely, I know there is no turning around, no going back. Knowledge is power. It takes a lot of fear and a lot of ignorance to keep someone indoctrinated. And the fear does not go away overnight. If you've been lucky enough to have an education that instills critical thinking skills then you stand a chance of getting yourself out. I look at half of my family today, and I feel deep pity for the suffering their beliefs are inflicting on them, psychological suffering because they sincerely believe that Satan controls some of us and we are going to hell. It's hard to fathom that I lost so many years to this. Yes, I feel some anger, but mostly gratitude that I've seen the light.