Goodbye Jesus

What if I'm not glad?

goose000

So I hear lots of testimonials about how everyone felt freed when they came to the realization that it wasn't true; that they no longer felt the pressure, or the guilt, and they wished they knew sooner. 

I can tell you that it hasn't been like that for me. My Christianity was EVERYTHING to me. Christ was more important to me than my wife, or my kids. I found purpose, fulfillment, comfort, and love from my worldview, pride in who I was, and so much more. 

Then, I started learning about cognitive bias, and how to think more rationally. Predictably, to the people here, it all came crashing down. I started seeing more and more how little evidence there really was for what I considered to be the most important thing there was. I had long preached that if Christ was true, it was everything, but if not, if there was no God, everything was meaningless; we are then a product of randomness, an accident resulting in a perception of consciousness, with no eternal significance, and only a brief, temporary existence. My conviction of this changed not at all when I changed my position on theism.