Goodbye Jesus

Caesar's Messiah-Book Review

Geezer

Was there ever an earthly Jesus? That is a question that scholars have debated for eons. No Incontrovertible evidence has yet to be found that answers that question one way or the other. However, no verifiable evidence has been found that conclusively proves a person known as Jesus of Nazareth ever existed either. Outside the Gospels it appears no one ever heard of or met this man known as Jesus of Nazareth.

Joseph Atwill, a lawyer by profession, believes he has uncovered how this person known as Jesus of Nazareth came to be and has written a book that explains his theory in great detail. It seems clear the author has invested years studying and researching his theory. I started another topic about this subject before I knew this book existed. My initial thoughts about this book and the authors theory were based on a number of reviews I read mostly by well known historical scholars that ripped the author and his theory to shreds. I'd already bought the book and considered not even wasting my time reading it, but my curiosity got the best of me.

I haven't finished the book but I've read a good portion of it, certainly enough to form an opinion. I'm now wondering if these "historians" even bothered to read the book or simply dismissed it out of hand as being based on an absurd theory concocted by an amateur wannabe historian with too much time on his hands. On the face of it the authors theory, at first glance, does seem to be kind of way out there and sort of grasping for straws.