Goodbye Jesus

What Would Non-Quote Collectors Do?

StevoMuso

Please post some of your best quotes that relate to religion/atheism/etc. Some of us on this forum are ardent collectors of well thought out punchy quotes.

I've been collecting things like this that come up in conversations. As an author I'm often invited to debate both theists and atheists alike, and often get some really cool punchy lines coming up. After I get home I type them up for future reference.

Cool. Perhaps you could start a thread and post a bunch of those quotes, and then others can post whatever other quotes seem befitting.

You may like these:

Calling atheism a kind of religion is like calling not-stamp collecting a kind of hobby. (Got this one from another forum)

I have heard a similar quote that compared it to calling not playing baseball a sport. Speaking on not collecting stamps, one of my favorite YouTube videos is by user NonStampCollector (the video is called "What would Jesus NOT do?").

Science seeks to draw a conclusion from the evidence at hand, while religion seeks to find evidence for a conclusion at hand.

Note: All Regularly Contributing Patrons enjoy Ex-Christian.net advertisement free.

Please note: these do not necessarily have to be "quotes" in the sense of quoting someone famous. They can be simple one-liners you've heard, or thought of yourself in a moment of brilliance.

Here are some more of my favourites (British spelling, blimey!):

"Stupidity is forever, but there is a cure for ignorance."

"There is a humble question mark at the end of science, and an arrogant exclamation mark at the end of religion."

"Skeptical inquiry and critical thought seek the humble acquisition of knowledge, while religion seeks the arrogant proclamation of dogma."

And the one I use in my signature: "Atheism is not anti-religion or counter-religion; it is the absence of religion."