Goodbye Jesus

Born-again Atheist

Guest Victor

Hello everyone,

This is my first post here and I'd just like to introduce myself. My name's Victor, and I am a college student from Pennsylvania who has recently renounced Christianity and religion in general.

I was raised nominally Christian, although my parents weren't really all that religious. My mother was a product of Catholic school, so naturally she distrusted religion in general. My father used to be a university professor, so he's no nitwit evangelist. Still, we went to church and I went to Sunday school, since I suppose my parents wanted me to have moral fiber. In any case, I "gave my life to Christ" when I was 13 at one of those youth retreats that I went to with my church's youth group.

Looking back, that youth retreat I went on really said a lot about the Christian movement in America today, in its deceit and shameless charlatanry. I went because my friends were going, not because I wanted to get closer to God or anything. The retreat was in the Jersey Pine barrens. It was called Keswick or something like that. Anyway, the minute I stepped in, I was bombarded with the message that I had to devote my life and soul to Jesus. I was told I was a "scratched CD," that I was "broken," and that I would certainly die spiritually (read: go to hell) if I didn't accept Jesus as my personal savior. It was very emotional. They did an alter call during a service on Saturday night, but I did not go up, even though I decided to devote my life to Jesus. I did not think that it was necessary to make my spiritual choice public for any praise or admiration. My youth leader harrangued me into walking up, so I did. Everyone was crying, embracing, praising Jesus. Rather sickening, actually, now that I look back on it. What manipulative bastards these pastors are. They manipulate your emotions into believing something irrational and stupid.