Goodbye Jesus

Speaking In Tongues

Alan Bragg

Ok, I am new to this whole idea of xtians speaking in tongues. Rather shamefully I admit that the first time I came accross it was in the Borat movie. Here in the UK, with the exception of the evangelical teeny church phenomenon, I have never seen a church service where anybody starts talking mush unless they are suffering from senile dementia (and that isn't just the congregation. I once heard a minister describe islam as a "threat to the kirk"), so how new is this phenomenon? Did Billy Graham have something to do with this?

It's so nice to hear someone say they've never even come close to having their intellect assulted in such a way before. :grin:

OK...

The roots of Pentecostalism, as the roots of all fundamentalist history are pretty murky.

When I was attending a PAOC church, I heard a story about a woman in the early 1900s who started having charismatic experiences.

From searching the Internet, I believe there are significant reasons to question this as the first outpouring of emotion based Protestent religion.

Setting aside the question of what were the early "quakers", I don't think we can gloss over 1700s/1800s America and assume it was all prim and proper religion "a la Victoria". My gut tells me that 2nd coming religion could not have been born of anything but emotion based worship. Just my opinion but if I were studying history and looking for a thesis... I'd be scratching at that.

Nonetheless, the early 1900s appears to be the *emergence* of the charismatic movement.

Out of that grew the Assemblies of God (A.K.A. Ass of God by some here) and the PAOC or Pentecostal Assemblies of Canada. I am unaware of any other charismatic denomination having its roots in this era.

Charismatic churches encourage emotion based religion but they will certainly deny the accusation.