Jump to content

Astreja

Regular Member
  • Content Count

    2,834
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    10

Astreja last won the day on December 8 2020

Astreja had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

1,248 Wow

1 Follower

About Astreja

  • Rank
    Springy Goddess
  • Birthday 08/07/1957

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Female
  • Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
  • Interests
    Music, writing, gardening, meadmaking, astronomy, sleight-of-hand
  • More About Me
    I'm a cranky and eccentric polymath who, for most of her life, has had a morbid fascination with religion and society.

    If you talk to the left hemisphere of my brain you'll get a skeptical, science-friendly humanist who periodically engages in activism -- I have broken a metatarsal bone in a five-mile protest march; yelled at a prime minister; waved gay-rights signage; and videotaped Laura Secord's cow at Portage and Main.

    If you talk to the right hemisphere, I'll cheerfully tell you that I hang out with the Æsir and Vanir; that my older sister is the Bodhisattva Guan Shi Yin; and that my guardian dragon would like another coffee and donut, please.

Previous Fields

  • Still have any Gods? If so, who or what?
    Humanist and agnostic polyatheist

Recent Profile Visitors

6,889 profile views

About Me

The overriding theme of my life is curiosity, and along the way I have explored numerous philosophies and even more numerous career and educational paths.

I've practised Western occultism, several varieties of Buddhism, Ásatrú (an attempt to reconstruct ancient Scandinavian belief and culture), and had a very short and thoroughly unfulfilling encounter with Sunday School in the United Church of Canada.  My daily routine currently consists of 30 minutes of mindfulness meditation.  I currently identify as a humanist Stoic, and observe Old Norse festivals such as Yule.


My education consists of a science-heavy curriculum in the Quebec English-language school system; an Arts degree, also from Quebec; a certificate in Business Administration; and several computer certifications.  In addition to my high school French I've formally studied Mandarin, Irish Gaelic and Icelandic (and actually got to use the Icelandic on real people when I went to Iceland in 2019).  Reading Thoreau's Walden recently inspired me to enroll in an online free Latin course.

On the career front I've had innumerable clerical positions, but also spent eight years as a certified network technician (MCSE, CNE and A+ plus a bit of Linux when no one was looking).  I've helped manage a kung fu school, waited tables, painted walls, and printed vinyl decals with ominous warnings and a lot of exclamation marks.

For the last 15 years I've been a medical stenographer.  I type examination reports from dictation, and have acquired a huge new vocabulary that includes such words as 'gastroesophageal,' 'atelectasis,' and the dreaded 'nasopharyngoscopy.'

I write novels (Genre: Urban SF/fantasy/humour mash-up with gods, nerds and a dragon who likes Casablanca).

 

Music is a huge part of my life.  I started with piano in 1965, but since 2004 I've been studying clarinet and play it in several community concert bands.  Currently I have two regular B♭ soprano clarinets plus an alto and a bass, and am planning to add an E♭ sopranino clarinet in 2021.  I can also find my way around a flute, alto sax, guitar, bass, and violin.

 

Preferred fitness activities:  Walking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing.  Hobbies:  Astronomy, gardening, beginner-level stage magic, and a lot of reading.

 

And yes, I do sleep occasionally...

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Guidelines.