Goodbye Jesus

How Do I Deal With Christians In Family

Guest Kit

Hello,

First of all I'm so thankful to have found this site. I am new to being an ex christian, but soooooo glad I am. I am finally free. Its funny because I'm so excited to be finding myself again, I lost myselft in somewhere in Christianity. Having the time of my life now.

I was a protestant for over 10 years, but then some things just didn't make sense to me anymore. I found out that one of my stepdaughters (16) was gay (she's a christian) and that kind of started it all for me. I have seen the struggles she has gone through, thinking how awful of a person she is, trying so hard to feel "normal", blaming herself, blaming God, blaming anybody. Well, that was my first questioning stage, couldn't understand why she just couldn't be herself.

My pastor at the time totally put down catholics or anybody for that matter, that wasnt a "bible teaching" church. I got tired of always hearing him put others down, so my husband and I left that church and went to a "friendly" one. My daughter stayed at the other church because all her friends went there and she of course believed all the crap they taught. Anyway, I decided to start researching religion and catholocism. Was going to become a catholic after reading the history about Luther and the early church. My husband freaked out, because he believed all the stuff my x pastor taught about catholics. Anyway, several months later my husband started questioning protestantism and stopped going to church but still believing.