Goodbye Jesus

Comments On Evolution

Matt

Hey guyz Im in my final year of highschool and for my human biology class we are doing evolution. At the moment im supposed to be doing evidence 'for' evolution. I was looking up stuff on protein sequences and amino acid stuff when i came upon this and started reading.

http://www.evolutionisimpossible.com/chemistry.html

Im new to evolution so has any read this website and more specifically this article. Id like to hear some comments from individuals that are more informed then me on the subject. It would be interesting to hear some people cut the main parts and tell me whats being said because the article basically says that it is impossible and nobody can refute that. 100% sure?. Thanks guyz

I'm not sure you're in the right forum for this question Matt, but I can tell you just from reading the first paragraph that this article builds a strawman of evolution.

Evolution does not speak to the origins of life, that's a completely different branch of study and should not be used to critique evolutinary theory.

Evolution ONLY speaks to what happened AFTER the first cells arose. And even then, it's only really saying that slight genetic differences devolop over time to the point that the new creature is different enough that it can be considered a new type of creature. That's all.

Now there's lots of theories w/in evolution: Natural Selection, genetic drift, etc. And these are all certainly debatable in the amount of effect (if any) they have on this process.

In addition, there's always dangers when using statistics such as this article does. I'll give you an example:

In other words, the probability of the formation of only one protein molecule is "1 in 10300." The probability of this "1" actually occurring is practically nil. (In practice, probabilities smaller than 1 over 1050 are thought of as "zero probability").