Goodbye Jesus

Masonic Membership

Guest indy107

Guest indy107

I am having a bit of a problem.

Before my 'deconversion' process started - several months ago - I had gotten quite interested in joining the Masonic Lodge. They do not require you to be a 'christian' - just that you belive in a supreme being. They call him the 'great architect of the universe', and you have to swear oaths on a bible.

Why do I want to join the Masons? Several reasons I guess. I think they are interesting, the whole knights templar connection (or possible connection) is fascinating. Most churches do NOT like the masons (not really a reason for joining - i just think its funny). I think there's alot of history there to be learned (I love history). And - I'd like to join the Shrine. I'm a musician and would like to be in the Shriner Band. Silly reason maybe but.....oh well. Bottom line - I still would like to join.

But you have to believe in a supreme being and swear oaths on a bible. (or other holy book)

They do not accept atheists.

Do I believe in a supreme being? Yeah - I think so. Definately not the god of the Old testament - that's for sure. Heck, for all I know our 'gods' could be nothing more than an alien race who seeded our planet billions of years ago. But they would be 'supreme beings' wouldnt they. So yes, I can say I think there's 'something' out there. Just not the 'god' the bible presents.