Goodbye Jesus

Perception Of School Lunches..

Lizard

Not sure if this is the right place, if not, perhaps a mod will move it?

I'm pulling this from another thread, a statement that was made, which I personally find offensive.

Cattle are also being fed cattle by-products from slaughter houses. That's right - cow cannibals.

Yeah. And it's still higher-quality than the garbage fed to kids in school lunches. I envy the cows.

I guess this is the right forum, because I feel like ranting.

This is outright bullshit. I don't know about the schools where the person who made this statement is, however, there are FEDERAL guidelines that MUST be followed.

We just completed meetings and are having more on wellness and nutrition.

I also have a question for the general assembly here..

What are YOUR perceptions of school lunch?

My school's lunches were fine, pretty good in comparison to reports of all the "garbage" school lunches all over the nation (i graduated high school this year).

They actually would try and make an effort to keep the meals nutritious. They even stocked some of the vending machines with helth stuff. (yuck) Needless to say its the students who choose what to ea tin the end.

I graduated high school in 1981, from a city district surrounded by several more affluent school systems. Yet we were the first in the area to offer a salad bar. I've no knowledge of current situations, but I'd guess that school lunches are at least as (and probably more) healthy than kids get at home.