Goodbye Jesus

Embarresing(sp?) Question

Dakota

I have been making excuses to not post this but I finally have run out of them. I am no longer a Christian, I don't believe in the Christian god, jesus, or the bible. I have claimed in other posts to have had "experiences" that lead me to believe there is some sort of higher power or afterlife, but sadly this is a lie I made up to keep from sounding silly in holding on to a belief in a deity or afterlife. I have had no "supernatural" experiences, no ghosts, visions, etc etc etc., I am admitting now that I basically have held on to the belief that there is some sort of afterlife because the thought of there being nothing is very scary to me. This makes me sound childish and silly, I know. But the fear is real and I can't help that. I know it is completely stupid to hold on to these beliefs with no proof to back them up, so why is it so hard for me to accept that there is most likely no afterlife? I don't even give a shit if there's a god, but I'm terriefied at the thought of just slipping into oblivion forever and ever. I've heard the argument "Not existing before I was born never bothered me so why should it after death?" I have heard it a million times but this does not stop the fear of there being nothing after death.

Does anyone else have this fear? The fear is not quite as intense as it was years before (when i began doubting christianity) but it still lingers and grips me from time to time. Is this just an irrational fear that will fade with time or is it something we must just accept and deal with for all our lives?

Anyone with an opinion will be greatly appreciated, whether its a harsh "There is no afterlife, get over it!" or someone actually has a legitimate reason for belief in an afterlife.

You guys have no idea how silly it feels to have this fear, but i finally got the nerve to post it as i'm hidden behind a computer screen :lmao:

Have a great day everybody!

Dakota