Goodbye Jesus

Dimensions

Panther

Hi all!

I know this subject has been explored before, but I've been thinking about it lately and wanted to have some discussion.

Going from memory, I believe I read there are a total of eleven dimensions. This is exciting and I was wondering if anyone had anything interesting to say about this.

Comments anybody? :grin:

I'm no expert by any means but I believe this is accurate according to super-string theory (possibly other theories as well). I've read some strange things such as gravity originates from the 11th dimension and "bleeds" into our own from there. I can't say how viable it is but the woman that thought it up has the math on her side so who am I to argue? :shrug::grin:

mwc

Hi mwc, thanks for your response. :)

I read a little about the string theory as well, but must admit, most of the sites I have looked up get so technical with mathematical equasions that it is pretty complicated.

Here is some info. I found where it seems to explain a little more simply...

Link

Searching for Extra Dimensions

Some info. taken from that link (bold emphasis mine):

The reason we do not feel these additional spatial dimensions in our everyday life (if they exist) is because they are very different from the three dimensions we are familiar with. It turns out that it is possible that our world is ‘pinned’ to a 3-dimensional sheet (a so-called ‘brane’) that is located in a higher dimensional space, To illustrate this, imagine an ant crawling on a sheet of paper in your hand. For the ant, the ‘universe’ is pretty much two-dimensional, as it cannot leave the surface of the paper. It only knows North from South and East from West, but up and down don’t make any sense as long as it has to stay on the sheet of paper. In pretty much the same way, we could be restrained to a three-dimensional world, which is in fact a part of a more complicated multi-dimensional universe!