Goodbye Jesus

Caught Between A Rock And A Hard Place

Guest rick2

:wave:

Greetings,

I'm new to exchristian.net and have a delima, I am an exchristian as well as a former minister.

I found out that I could be kind, compassionate and considerate without the bible and threats of damnation. I do have a religion, it's called “kindness”.

The story begins..

I have a chronic illness, in July I was admitted to the hospital at deaths door. My aunt whom is my only surviving family member has been pressuring me to go to church for a long time, i just avoid the subject, shes and elderly lady and recently re-discovered fellowship in the church. and I would never ever do anything to hurt her, but she is worried about my soul, I am not I'm at peace with myself for the first time in my life. So her pastor finds out through her that I'm in the hospital and of course he comes to visit me,

I didn't mind this at all, although I do feel pastors and their fold prey on the sick, ill, and dying. I enjoy the conversation although I usually steer the conversation away from religion. The pastor is a highly educated man, who holds legitimate non-theological based degrees.

Now that I'm doing better, I find the pastor coming to my home for visits, yes they are announced visits, and he is a very nice man. He just suffers from a disease worse than mine. Southern Baptism, even when I was involved in religion I even shyed away from baptist, I didn't agree with them then, I definitely do not agree with them now, I refuse to accept that if there is indeed a GOD he will send everyone to hell that is not of the baptist faith, that seems to be the synopsis of that sect.

Anyway my delima is that I do not want to hurt my aunt, she gets rather upset when I pontificate on how religion is a destructive force. I love her very much, she's been my mother since my mother has passed, but I can not go on with this facade that I'm remotely interested in becoming a bible thumping drone again.