Goodbye Jesus

I Need Advice... Money Or Sanity?

pandora

I am at a crossroads. I have finished 4.5 years of pharmacy school, with 1.5 left. I also have a bachelor's in comparative religious studies. I encountered some trouble in pharmacy school (had crap happen in life, so my grades suffered). I was kicked out, and forced to find another avenue for a year or so.... so I started nursing school. Then they let me back into pharmacy school.

Now, again, I've been kicked out (I think because a prof doesn't like, I got a D in a ONE HOUR course), but the Dean has said she'll give me one more chance if that is what I want.

My problem is I don't know if that is what I want. I've been a pharmacy intern off and on for the past six years. I hated it. Over break, I've been reminded of that because I need to make a decision. The only things that make me want to finish pharmacy school is the fact I'd be making lots of money and I would finish what I started.... but I don't want to be a pharmacist.

When I was in the nursing program, I was in awe of the possibilities... academia, higher degrees that are a lot easier to obtain (in pharmacy, if you want to go further, you either need two more years of residencies, or get a PhD in some hard science). Also, even with a RN/BSN, you have a lot more career options open to you. That excited me. I wouldn't be stuck doing the same thing my entire life, and the kind of patient interaction nurses do is a lot more emotionally fulfilling. BUT... nurses make 1/3 to 1/2 the money pharmacists make. With over 90K in student loans and a husband who doesn't make a lot of money in PR, money is a consideration. If I had the luxury of time, I would finish pharmacy school, pay off my loans, and then go into nursing. But I can't afford that much more in loans... nursing school to get a BSN would take me less than two years, and at the local state college which is much cheaper than the private pharmacy school I attend.