Goodbye Jesus

Taking Life By The Horns

shotsy

Growing up with the Christian ideal of "let God lead your life and he'll take care of everything," I've become somewhat passive and have kind of expected everything to work out for me. Granted, Christianity doesn't account for all of it: I was able to rely on my intelligence and natural academic abilities to skate through my lower education, and for whatever reason I've tended to avoid confrontation and stepping on people's feet (perhaps because I grew up with a sister who always over-reacted to such things?) All of this has led to a feeling of helplessness at times, like I can't get over my anxiety and just get something done. It's like a writer's block but more relating to completing any sort of mundane task. So now I'm a fifth-year college student still struggling to develop consistent study habits and to keep track of my finances and keep my car clean.

Anyway, do you guys have similar experiences? How have you overcome this? Counseling? Self-help books? Just getting a job to help move toward financial independence? Testosterone supplements? (Kidding!)

Any advice is welcome!

Growing up with the Christian ideal of "let God lead your life and he'll take care of everything," I've become somewhat passive and have kind of expected everything to work out for me.

I can understand this. As a christian I "relied on God". But this reliance on God meant I never did much for myself. I never went very far on the career ladder because I always thought I would end up in Christian ministry. I am now 32 and am hoping to take some accountancy qualifications when time and money allows.