Leaving The United States

Llwellyn

I grew up overseas as an American expatriate. Unfortunately, I was in Africa where my parents were putting into foreign languages the evil chainletter -- I mean, the Holy Bible.

But now I am a US resident and citizen. I am increasingly distressed by the culture of the US which is hostile, prudish, xenophobic, and ignorant. I hate all the militaristic jingoism that goes on here. I hate the way the elected politicians pander the basist, most narrow-minded people within the American community. I am thinking about leaving and going elsewhere.

Ideally I would go to a country that has not been exposed to the Christian mind-virus. (But I know this is realisitic.) I would like a country where people are free to live their lives as they wish and to express themselves. Of course, popular democracy is important as well.

Where would you recommend I go? Canada? The UK? Some Northern European country? What about a place in the Caribbean or South America?

Have you thought about leaving? Where would you go? Have you made steps toward doing so?

Of course we also do have problems over here, but compared to the US as you see it (and sadly, I can't exactly disagree with you...), Germany wouldn't be a bad choice. One can argue whether it's the best one, but there's always a catch. ;)

At least fundyism is mostly unheard of over here. What normally passes as fundified over here is still totally lukewarm by your standards. :)

Have you thought about leaving? Where would you go? Have you made steps toward doing so?

The Netherlands is full so my next choice will be Nepal. I'll have the money together in about 5 years and I'll be gone. Belize sounds nice though. A bit warmer than Nepal. :grin:

Canada -- horriable tax rates

UK -- I hope you don't plan on expressing yourself in a way that involves carbon-emissions

Northern European countries -- high-standard of living, and high rates