Goodbye Jesus

Everybody Can Write One Good Book

nivek

Wasn't quite sure where to place this article. Put here in ExC-Life, seems to give hope to those who want to write..

kFL

Everybody Can Write One Good Book

by Sergei Boukhonine

In 1990 or thereabouts, I was a student at the Moscow Linguistic University, studying English, translation and interpretation. Our teachers encouraged us to freelance, especially take jobs as interpreters for Westerners visiting the Soviet Union. It was regarded as a good way to brush up on your language skills as well as make a little money on the side.

Since it was still the centrally planned economy (albeit dying), most jobs were available through state organizations such as the Soviet Peace Committee, the Intourist (the official foreign travel company of the USSR), the Union of Soviet Journalists, etc. One of my favorites was the Union of the Soviet Writers. They often had extremely interesting visitors – writers, literary critics, college professors, etc.

For those of you who may not know it, the Union of the Soviet Writers was a very important and influential organization. Unless you were a member, your chances of publishing a book were slim to none. Also, you had to be a member in order to claim writing as your occupation – this needs some explaining. Every adult male in the USSR had to hold an officially recognized job. Otherwise, one could be convicted of "goldbricking" (тунеядство). Married females were exempt – housewife (домохозяйка) was considered to be a valid occupation. In practice, it meant that a great writer (e.g. Solzhenitsyn) could be convicted and imprisoned if he (a) was not a member of the Union of the Soviet Writers or (B) did not hold any other job. Hence, many dissident writers held day jobs as janitors, custodians, etc. – anything that would keep one out of jail as well as leave plenty of time for writing.