Goodbye Jesus

There Is Something There...

Spoomonkey

There is something there…

I used to believe that I knew what it was – and that everything I needed to know was wedged between leather covers. I worked full time as a youth minister at a large SBC church after getting my college degree at a conservative SBC school. And I could have told you everything you needed to know about God – and if you didn’t listen, you were simply blind and illogical.

I believed that all you really needed was God. I would tell the people that I counseled that – my youth, their parents, random church members who found my basement office with trendy band posters, a leather couch and a large bean bag comfortable. I would weave it into the messages that I preached – on Wednesday, the rare Sunday when the congregation begged for something “hip” and during my side job where I was flown around – almost rock-star-like – to different cities to speak at conventions and other large events.

I can remember meeting every challenge my youth came to me with, from temptations to drink to rape (yes *sigh* I even dealt with one of my kids’ rape with the same, dumb-ass answers) with “God is enough! Just go to him!”

When anyone came back, reporting failure (even the girl who was raped) I wondered if maybe I wasn’t reaching them – maybe I wasn’t building their faith like I should. Why did they doubt???

But then…

I needed God…

I really hadn’t before. I was pretty bright and a hell of a speaker. Opportunity came my way constantly. Sure there were tough times – and going through college married meant learning to live with little – but I always found a way to make ends meet. I was pretty self-sufficient. God could use his miracles elsewhere, thank you very much…

Until I was faced with divorce…

Then – I cried out to God. I begged him to step in and stop it – to keep the wicked current from destroying my family.

Nothing…

The divorce happened and my kids were moved away from me.