Goodbye Jesus

New Ex-christian

Guest LivingBeyondBelief

Guest LivingBeyondBelief

Hello everyone. This is my first post. I am new to being an ex-christian but have not told my family about it yet. I am dreading their reactions when I finally tell them. Will they look at me as some lost puppy? Will they constantly try to bring me back? Will they tell me things that go wrong in my life are because of my lack of faith in god? I know it will be disappointing for them, but will they still accept me as part of the family and for who I am? When is the 'best' time to tell them?

I am lucky to have a husband who is an atheist and therefore someone to talk to. I am also 33 weeks pregnant and when I think about telling my family (it has to be done eventually) I get very stressed out and anxious and my hubby believes I am suffering panic attacks because of it.

I went my whole childhood with my mom and siblings to a baptist church(dad didn't go and I don't really know his beliefs). I always thought my mom was a wonderful loving person and I knew my parents had fights and problems like most couples. When I was around 16 my brother and I found files on our computer containing letters of a VERY explicit nature between my mom and another man. And pictures. We talked to the other 2 siblings and decided to confront her about it. She confirmed and we made her tell dad. Come to find out he new about previous 'affairs' already and just chose to stay with her the whole time.

I think that really busted my view knowing that my mom, the one person I knew was my role model on everything, including how to be a christian woman, had been living a lie of hypocrisy the whole time.