Goodbye Jesus

My Introduction

Mriana

Where do I begin? I'm sure some have seen my comments in the blogs, but that's not an intro.

I'm a non-theist and a Humanist. It's a long story, but it wasn't until after I left home that I was able to explore my questions concerning religion. Since I am a writer, maybe the easiest way to tell my story is via an essay I wrote for a creative non-fiction class. It says a lot about me: http://mrianasoriginalfiction.houseofbetaz...xperiences.html

What is not stated in the essay is that I do not attend any church now (at least for 3 or 4 years now), but I keep in contact with the progressives in the Episcopal Church. Thing is, due to my studies in religion and mythology, I cannot believe in a historical Jesus and I have never believed in a metaphysical/anthropomorphic deity. Thing is, Don Cupitt's idea of love being god is not god at all. My lifelong concept is yet another human concept and nothing more.

Maybe Bob Price, an a vowed atheist and Humanist can attend the Episcopal Church with no revulsion, but I just cannot deal with the paganistic ideology, cannibalistic theophagy, and the barbaric crucifixion- not to mention all the other stuff. This is not new, but once I realized it is all human concepts and rewritten myth I could not stomach it even more. Spong feels badly that his influence has led me to where I am today, but that's OK. I asked for truth, actually demanded it and he, as well as others, gave me the honest truth about religion.