Goodbye Jesus

Q U E S T I O N: Are Fundies The Pharisees And C I N Os The Real Christians?

R. S. Martin

That question was raised because of an article (almost booklength) I'm reading by Ron Henzel on spiritual abuse and manipulation. It was linked from an exChristian site (not this one) with the notice that it was written by a Christian but was valuable anyway. I'm finding it enlightening. The characteristics he describes as manipulations are practically every single one of the things that I myself, or others here on exC, have accused Christianity of doing because it is what we experienced in our churches.

What has puzzled me for so long is that I don't experience this at the seminary where I am studying.

QUESTION: Is fundamentalism in reality spiritual abuse and are CINOs the real Christianity?

Many of us here say we are more like Christians since we deconverted than we were while Christians. If we can say that, why not the CINOs? For me, the Christians at the seminary show me that there are professing Christians who live the way Jesus taught, yet many people here would call them CINOs. I disagree with that but we discussed that elsewhere and it's not the point I am raising for discussion here. "By their fruits ye shall know them."

The fundies have a very harsh hard-liner religion but preach a loving and gentle Jesus. I have found this seriously confusing. Now with this article, I'm coming up with the question presented here.

What do you think?

I agree that the fundies are the pharisees. I called them just that on YouTube and a number of other people on the site have done the same. They're modern day pharisees, no question about it.

They have the rules and say, "if you don't believe/do this then you aren't one of us and aren't going to heaven, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah."

The pharisees did the same.

Not once did Jesus ever tell off a non-religious person. Not once did he despise a "sinner."