Goodbye Jesus

Taoism

PandaPirate

Who here is interested in Taoism and has a good bit of knowledge on the subject?

I'm interested...

I studied it a lot in college and later in life, have a lot of links on my computer, and have the Tao on podcasts to listen to while walking and driving. Plenty of resources on the web and books.

Would you mind giving us a quick run down of your views on the subject? I intend to look up sources on it, but I would like to hear from some personally acquainted with it.

Done some looking in the past, haven't done extensive studies in modern Taoism, though. Interesting thoughts in the Tao Te Ching, when I read it.

taoism in a nutshell..

Water does not go through the rock, it goes around the rock. The path of least resistance.

Interested in it. And have a tiny bit of knowledge about it.

Basically I've read the Tao te Ching and those books called 'Tao of Pooh' and 'Te of Piglet' :D

The main point of Taoism seems to be - to be yourself, don't try and force things to be other than what they are, work with nature not against it. That sort of thing. A pretty groovy philosophy really.

Then there's that stuff about the 'way' of nature - that it gives while not requiring anything in return, it does not do anything and yet nothing is left undone - and that we should emulate that.

I'm very fond of the thought in the Tao te Ching. I think it's quite a useful philosophy.

taoism in a nutshell..

Water does not go through the rock, it goes around the rock. The path of least resistance.

but in going round the rock, it eventually gets to go the shortest path, since the rock is worn away....

I have an interest in it. I've read the Tao Te Ching several times...different translations.

I found Taoism to be a refreshing addition to my life. I highly recommend Diane Dreher's book "The tao of inner peace"