Goodbye Jesus

God Broke His Promise

R. S. Martin

First and foremost, I don't want any Christian or other religious nut telling me I can't say what I'm saying here. I was going to post it in the Testimonies section but I've already posted enough stuff there. And maybe I actually want to rant more than just "testify"--I don't really know. Maybe this is my "Blasphemy Challenge." Who knows.

In recent years--maybe past ten years or so--I've noticed that I'm extremely sensitive to anything remotely resembling a broken promise and I've wondered WHY? My parents never made promises they couldn't keep. They were very careful about that.

One thing I've been telling my people for ten years is that I couldn't find happiness inside the church. They told me happiness wasn't what we should be looking for in this life. EXCUSE ME, but the Bible promises it! Nobody listened to me. No matter what Christians I talk to, they all tell me that looking for happiness is probably not what I should be doing.

I can't believe it! Aren't they reading the same Bible I'm reading? I know they are. Why don't they see it? Well, I couldn't find the verse, either, when I looked for it. I thought there was something in the Beatitudes and there is, but you can explain it any other way if you like. Then the other week I found it.

Here is God's promise in the sacred KJV in Phil. 4:9: Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.

In other words, if you do what you're told--if you are obedient to God and the church and your parents, you will have God's peace.