Goodbye Jesus

Natural Selection

Burry The Rag

Hey All,

I’ve been reading the “Knowledge” thread which contains a fair amount of discussion regarding natural selection. Just for the sake of clarity I believe an accurate description to be:

http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=natural%20selection[/url]]natural selection n.

The process in nature by which, according to Darwin's theory of evolution, only the organisms best adapted to their environment tend to survive and transmit their genetic characters in increasing numbers to succeeding generations while those less adapted tend to be eliminated.

Source: The American Heritage® Stedman's Medical Dictionary

Copyright © 2002, 2001, 1995 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company.

I’m no scientist, but I understand as the generations pass (which is a very long time for some and very, very short for others) the strong survive, the weak die and thus the species either gradually becomes better suited to its environment or slowly dies off. This is considered to be a good thing. I plan to use this principle in my vegetable garden. By reseeding from only the best producing plants, as season follows season, I anticipate slowly crafting a strain of vegetables which will be better able to grow in the conditions my yard provides than were the seeds I originally purchased.

But isn’t protecting an endangered species or maintaining a wildlife habitat interfering with what is seen as not only an effective, but desirable, process? Does not this intervention enable the weak, which would otherwise pass on, to survive? Won’t this medaling, over time, yield negative results?

I’m not advocating disengagement. As a Christian, I feel I have an obligation to care for the Earth and its creatures. But I’m confident most here view that as bunk. I’m sure someone has a rational explanation how these two ideas are congruent.

Peace!

BtR

PS: This isn’t a straw man, I’m really wondering about it.

• Replies 99