Goodbye Jesus

Is it Islamic "extremism" -- or is it Islam itself

nivek

Wasn't sure if this was more a newsie or Op-Ed, or a treatsie on religon..

Here it is.. Hellova read:

kL

Is it Islamic "extremism" -- or is it Islam itself?

The Reality Check ^ | 10 July 2005 | Robert Bidinotto

http://www.therealitycheck.org/GuestColumn...notto071005.htm

In the wake of the London bombings, we are forced again to confront this most uncomfortable question:

Do the Islamic fundamentalist terrorists truly represent a marginal minority among Muslims worldwide?

Or is the term "Islamic fundamentalist" really just a redundancy?

I am by no means an expert on Islam. But since 9/11, and countless terrorist incidents since, I have been patiently awaiting evidence that the majority of Muslims worldwide repudiate the premises and tactics of Islamic terrorists.

Well, I'm still waiting. And there comes a time when one must finally draw conclusions, however painful, from the facts presented.

If there really is some sort of ongoing war between "extremists" and "moderates" for the soul of Islam, it appears to be one of the quietest contests in the history of ideological warfare.

Whatever the ancient history of Islam, in distant days when more enlightened thinkers and civilized rulers prevailed, I see precious little evidence that these sorts represent any significant part of contemporary Muslim thinking or leadership. If they do, they certainly haven't been very vocal, or active, about rooting out the terrorists in their midst and repudiating their views.

When a supposedly Christian fundamentalist nutcase, Eric Rudolph, bombed U. S. abortion clinics and gay nightclubs, he was forced to live a marginal, virtually reclusive life hiding in a remote rural area.