Goodbye Jesus

Newly "de"converted

rosy_mary

Hello, all. I'm a twenty-year-old college student. I don't know where to start. This hurts too much.

After spending a day lurking through this site, I decided that this looks like the kind of place I need. Right now there isn't a single person I know that's not a Christian. I feel like a wolf in sheep's clothing. Like many here, from what I can see, I grew up in an American Fundamentalist Christian home. My Dad is a strict Calvinist; my mother just believes whatever she's told. Apparently she's happy that way.

I was never a good Christian. I had trouble reconciling the Old and New Testaments. Unlike many Christians, I actually read the Bible. I'd always been assured that reading the Bible would strengthen my faith, but I found the opposite happening. I often ended up angry at the seething wrath and intolerance of a god that demands love and worship and would condemn the majority of the human race to Hell simply for being human. Of course, I would always end up repenting of these thoughts, often with "holy" terror of God's displeasure as the motivator. As I said, my Dad was a Calvinist, so I lacked the ability to gloss over Hell and brimstone passages as so many seemed to. In my mid-teens I started avoiding reading the Bible altogether. I felt awful because of it, since it made me a "bad" Christian, but reading the Bible seemed to hurt my faith more than help it. It didn't help that I attended a Fundamentalist Christian high school in which Bible-reading was seen as one of the most critical signs of a person's faith. So I read. But I had to avoid the troublesome epistles with their sneering disdain for humankind, and focus on the “nice” passages.