Goodbye Jesus

Losing My Mind

rosy_mary

In the Testimonies section, I wrote about how I am a 20-year-old student currently attending a Fundamentalist Christian college in the Midwest. Right now, none of my friends or family have a clue about my true agnostic beliefs, and I don't have a clue how to tell them. The pressure of constantly putting a false face is getting to me. This semester I have to take an "Essential Doctrinal Themes" class. A year ago I would have eaten it up. Now I'm constantly suppressing the urge to jump up in class and start yelling at people for believing such nonsense. I'm so close to doing it.

From kindergarten to senior year of high school, I was always the "good" girl. I did all my work, got all the grades, liked and was liked by my teachers. Adults said I was intelligent and mature. But in the past few months I've lost almost all respect for the adults around me and even the motivation to do schoolwork. My grades are slipping like never before. My "terrible secret" is churning in my stomach like poison. I'm scared that if I don't open my mouth and tell someone soon I'm going to lose control and do something stupid. It breaks my heart to see my friends, parents, and younger siblings suffering such delusion. Dorm-mates come to me and tell me about some issue they're struggling with with God, and it kills me. I know enough about theology to give the "right" answers. But the "right" answers are not the truth.