Goodbye Jesus

Announcing De-conversion To The World

Whindian

My question is: How do you announce to the world that you no longer believe in God?

The vast majority of my friends are Christian. I have some friends from other religions and freethinkers/apathetic, however they are not that close (with like 1 exception). We've just had different interests up to now, so uni/work/running was the only thing that brought us together. Thus basically, telling people I no longer believe in God will most probably be like committing social suicide.

Even with respect to non-Christian friends, its going to appear weird. I'm kind of a person that appears secure in what I believe. I'm a lawyer-in-training, so I can debate my points fairly well. I've even got a lot of my non-Christian friends consider Christianity through my discourse. I'm going to appear like a insecure, hypocritical loser, and lose any sense of credibility. It's not going to go down well.

Surely some people would have been in a similar predicament to what I'm in now. How did you handle it?