Goodbye Jesus

A Promise To Myself

Outlaw393

Hey guys. It's been years since I've posted here so I think it's time. Recently, after a three year period of searching for a religion, I've decided to stop lying to myself and become an atheist. It was hard at first, I felt empty and depressed. I decided to fall back on a philosophy (I won't call it a religion) that I studied about a year ago. It's Taoism. Taoism has helped fill the gap that I felt when I decided to accept that there is no god. I know there are many like me, I was a christian for 25 years, born and raised in the church. It's harder for those of us that were brainwashed at an early age to break away from something we've always known.

So...why now. Why have I decided to just be an atheist and forget (most) religion. I figure that every culture has it's gods, and there's zero proof for any of them. The atheists are right, I figured... "man created god in his own image". I'm agnostic, however, in my statement that I can't know for sure (and surely no one else can either) that there certainly isn't a god.

So I went from feeling an empty hole to feeling joy. It took a little while, but it's the first time in a long time I felt joy over my religious choices. Such freedom.

:)

Hey guys. It's been years since I've posted here so I think it's time. Recently, after a three year period of searching for a religion, I've decided to stop lying to myself and become an atheist. It was hard at first, I felt empty and depressed. I decided to fall back on a philosophy (I won't call it a religion) that I studied about a year ago. It's Taoism. Taoism has helped fill the gap that I felt when I decided to accept that there is no god. I know there are many like me, I was a christian for 25 years, born and raised in the church. It's harder for those of us that were brainwashed at an early age to break away from something we've always known.