Goodbye Jesus

Living With A Fundamentalist Spouse

finally_done

I am married to a fundamentalist believer. We married the moment I graduated from our fundamentalist Christian college at 20 years of age. That was 23 years ago. To make a long story short, after being an overseas missionary wife, a country church pastor's wife, a SS teacher, and a regular columnist for a national fundamentalist Christian magazine, I now find myself an agnostic/atheist in a very DEFINITELY mixed marriage. My husband is of the KJV-Only background and has recently decided to hitch himself to the charismatic bandwagon as well. I've had doubts and questions about religion since I was a teen, but it's only been during the last six years that I've permitted myself to explore alternative perspectives. This year has been an amazing one, and the sense of relief and hope I am now experiencing after shedding the constraints of Christianity is wonderful.

But I have a question for you. How do you hang in there with a spouse who thinks you're going to hell now and is afraid you're going to convince your kids to come along for the ride, too? How do you stay married to someone who doesn't respect you or like you any longer -- who feels your choice to leave the faith is a personal attack on him?