Goodbye Jesus

Charitable Giving

Guest Davka

Guest Davka

How many here got so used to tithing as Christians that you continued to give after you left the church? My wife and I support a girl through a child sponsorship group, and recently we've begun giving through Kiva. (Kiva has just recently started to make loans available to people in the USA as well as overseas. I like that idea.)

Anyone else here get addicted to giving?

I don't know about addicted, as that would imply I can't control myself. My wife and I have been giving to Compassion for about 10 years, and I did 10 before that on my own. Even though they push Christianity, they do a lot of good for the kids, so I keep on with it. I also correspond with the kids, and that is what makes it a more human endeavor, not just throwing money at them. I was able to get a young Kenyan boy all the way up to adulthood, helping him with school, clothes, and farm animals. Now we have three kids, 2 in India and 1 in Kenya. A couple are getting near 18, so we will be cut off from them soon, which I think is sad. I don't know if we will sponsor others after that or not.

We help our immigrant friends locally when they need it, though most have progressed beyond the need by now. They were thrust into our lives, and we saw it as an opportunity to do good, so we did. A few years back many of them came to our home with their kids and nearly filled the place. They surrounded us and blessed us for what we did for them. That was deeply touching for me.

• Super Moderator

I did Compassion too. Now I find local uses for my ever dwindling resources.

I understand there's a charity that pays for breast implants...