Goodbye Jesus

Bible Says Jesus Was Not Crucified - But Hanged On A Tree!

Guest marabod

Hi All. Being a newbie, I may not fully understand the atmosphere here, so I apologise if the topic that left me, a scientist and atheist, shocked, would not touch any sensitive strings. Below is not a result of some long and hard theologian work, but just a casual observation, made in another unnamed forum, mainly controlled by Christian Fundamentalists, despite its official neutrality. Few days ago I cam across a quote from the Acts, posted by someone for irrelevant purposes.

Acts 5:30 (King James Version)

30The God of our fathers raised up Jesus, whom ye slew and hanged on a tree.

Being surprised with such euphemism as "tree" to be used in order to describe the cross, I cross-checked the KJV translation versus all those which http://www.biblegateway.com/ offers, and it occurred that, say, both Russian translations, 18th century one and the latest one, say exactly the same word to word... Also using the word "tree" in a form of "drevo", ultimately meaning an alive tree with the roots and leaves... All with little exception translations from the Greek original of the Acts say approximately the same, with exception of a few (some later English versions) which change from "killed AND hanged on a tree" to "killed BY hanging on a tree").