Goodbye Jesus

So... Decoverting. This Going To Be A Lifelong Struggle? Discuss.

AltarEgo

Deconverting. Definition: the continual process of leaving ones faith/religous/moral tradition.

Well, maybe that's the definition. :)

I've been deconverting for 6 years and it doesnt seem to get any easier. I'm still young, though. Will it get better in time? I'm curious how it's been for others.

For me its mostly cyclical.

P.S. This is my first post. (Woot!)

Keeping this site online isn't free, so we need your support! Make a one-time donation or choose one of the recurrent patron options by clicking here.

Deconverting. Definition: the continual process of leaving ones faith/religous/moral tradition.

I've been deconverting for 6 years and it doesnt seem to get any easier. I'm still young, though. Will it get better in time? I'm curious how it's been for others.

The best thing you can do, IMO, is learn as much as you can about the natural world. The more you understand science, the less room there is for woo.

Welcome to ex-christian.net AltarEgo! I hope our site proves to be helpful for you.

I think changing world views is necessarily a difficult process for anyone. I think it's made more difficult if you move from a mainstream belief (Christianity) to a minority, non-theistic point of view.

I think it may help to find like minded people to share your life with. Is that possible in yor situation?

OB '63

• Super Moderator

Welcome, AltarEgo. (I like that name!)

Decoverting. This Going To Be A Lifelong Struggle?

Only if you let it.

I know a couple of people who describe themselves as "recovering Catholics." That kid of mindset defines them as someone who is by nature religious, and must continually fight that urge. I suggest they think about it differently.