Goodbye Jesus

Zoe Mets

Zoe was born in Kansas on July 18, 1995 in what was most likely a puppy mill; the same month and year I graduated from high school. Somehow she found her way to a pet shop on the corner of University and Goldenrod in Winterpark, Florida at the same time I was there attending Full Sail Center for the Recording Arts.

I had an Albino Tree Snake at the time, and we (my girlfriend at the time) had gone to the shop to buy a mouse for him. She was the one who spotted her. She was the one who bought her. But I named her Zoe, and I trained her and cleaned up after her and fed her. I had wanted a dog my whole life; and she was my first one. She, in turn taught me not just how to love unconditionally, but how to be a better person.

I soon broke up with that girlfriend, and I bought Zoe off of her. That was a tough break up for me and Zoe helped me get through it. I didn't know many other people in Winterpark, and Zoe and me bonded that year.

She lived with me for almost four years, well after my graduation from Full Sail and my move back down to South Florida. But my life had gotten very busy with being a grunt in recording studios during the day, and being a short order cook till after midnight just about every night. So I reluctantly gave her to my parents to raise, lucky for me they live only a few blocks away from me. She spent the next 11 years with them, swimming in the pool, laying out by the fire on cool nights, and making sure the yard was free of lizards and squirrels. I went to see her almost every morning over the time she lived with my folks, and as she got older and her kidneys started to fail I think she started to become dependent on me being able to come let her out to go potty more often.