Goodbye Jesus

How Do You Respond To A "prayer Request?"

Abmin9

As a newb, I'd like to ask: When someone says, "I just found out that my cousin is in ICU & that they are running a bunch of test on him & I am asking for all of your thoughts and prayers," what is your response to that?

Obviously, it's not, "I'll pray for him."

What does "I'll keep him in my thoughts" accomplish?

"I hope he'll be all right." - Hope itself accomplishes nothing.

The faithful believe there's something you can actually do (besides rely on doctors and medicine, duh!), so they see prayer as an action that they'll thank you and give you credit for when their cousin gets better. Even if he doesn't, they'll thank you for your (failed) attempt.

I don't know... Maybe by saying, "I hope he gets better" we're truly saying, "If I could wave a magic wand and heal him, I would?"

Throw me a bone here!

Nothing wrong with an expression of sympathy. We express sympathy for others even when we aren't in the position to do anything about their difficulties.

I've never had anyone tell me it was due to my prayers that their situation worked out. If they did I would probably demur.

You could express your sympathy and also say something like, "I'll remember him." The christian will likely interpret that as remembering him in prayer, but you'll just remember him in your thoughts. You'll not be committing to prayer or making religion a big deal by outing yourself as a nonbeliever.

As a newb, I'd like to ask: When someone says, "I just found out that my cousin is in ICU & that they are running a bunch of test on him & I am asking for all of your thoughts and prayers," what is your response to that?

Obviously, it's not, "I'll pray for him."

What does "I'll keep him in my thoughts" accomplish?

"I hope he'll be all right." - Hope itself accomplishes nothing.