Goodbye Jesus

Whaddyamean 'Fruit juice'!!???

brick

A good friend of mine who is unfortunately under the spell of jebuz related to me that his parents are dead against the consumption of alcohol because it is un-christian.

"Huh" says me, "Please explain, my deluded chum."

"Well that whole 'water into wine' miracle was mistranslated...what they really meant was water into fruit juice."

Stutter.....MISTRANSLATED!!!!!!!!! WTF!!!!!!!!!

I checked the bible and it clearly states "WINE". That means alcohol, I should know, I worked in the brewing and vinting industry for seven years (btw, I can make hooch out of just about anything!)

How can anyone of reason actually believe that the bible might contain a "mistranslation". That is a notion with catastrophic implications! If one thing may be wrongly recorded then the whole body of work is suspect.

Following that line of thought, isn't it then possible that jebuz may have just been some guy who knew a few card tricks?

Ok now, biblelovin' theists, I call on you to reasonably defend you abstinance for religeously supported reasons.

I anxiously await your squirming. This should be good....

"Well that whole 'water into wine' miracle was mistranslated...what they really meant was water into fruit juice."

AHAHA!! The only thing the bible says against drinking that I can recall, is that if you're a priest you shouldn't get drunk and flounder all over the church knocking over tables and vomitting.

Ah, this has always been one of my favorite rationalizations! Baptists use grape juice in communion because drinking wine would be wrong, and the when the bible says wine, it doesn't really mean wine. But it is the divinely inspired word of god, literally true and correct as written. Except for the wine thing. Jesus drank wine, and blessed wine, and turned water into wine, but not really.

My question has always been this - if it wasn't really wine, then why are there references to people getting drunk on it?